General Awareness : Indian Polity Quiz 3

Indian Polity Quiz / Indian Polity GK Question & Answers / Important Indian Polity Questions and Answers for Competitive Exams conducted by SSC, UPSC

1. On which date Constitution of India was adopted and enacted by the Constituent Assembly?
a) August 15, 1947.
b) January 26, 1950.
c) November 26, 1949.
d) January 30, 1948.

2. Indian Constitution came into force on:
a) 26 Jan 1949.
b) 26 Jan 1950.
c) 15 Nov 1950.
d) 15 Aug 1947.

3. The members of the Constituent Assembly were
a) directly elected by the people.
b) nominated by the Indian National Congress.
c) nominated by the rulers of the Indian States.
d) elected by the Provincial Assemblies.

4. Provincial Constitution Committee of the Constituent Assembly had been chaired by:
a) Jawahar Lal Nehru.
b) Sardar Patel.
c) Bishwanath Das.
d) None of these.

5. Who of the following was the Permanent Chairman of the Constituent Assembly?
a) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
b) Dr. Rajendra Prasad.
c) Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru.
d) Sardal Patel

6. Who nominates 12 members in the Council of State—
a) Chairman of Rajya Sabha
b) Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha
c) President of India
d) Prime Minister of India

7. Members of Rajya Sabha are elected by which members—
a) Lok Sabha
b) Legislative Assembly
c) Council of State
d) Legislative Council

8. In which Article of the Constitution of India, duration of House of Parliament has been mentioned—
a) 83
b) 84
c) 85
d) 88

9. Which House shall not be a subject for dissolution—
a) Lok Sabha
b) House of People
c) Council of State
d) State Legislature

10. After how many years, one-third of the members of the Rajya Sabha retire—
a) 6 years
b) 3 years
c) 5 years
d) 2 years

11. Who is a Chief Minister?
a) Deputy Prime Minister
b) The leader of the Union Territory
c)  The Leader of the Legislative Assembly in a State
d) None of the above.

12.Who elects the Prime Minister?
a) The people
b) The President
c) The Parliament
d) All of the above

13.The President of India is elected by:
a) The members of Parliament
b) The Members of Legislative Assemblies
c) Both
d) Neither

14.The judges of the Supreme Court are appointed by
a) The Prime Minister of India
b) The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court
c) The President of India
d) The Indian parliament

15.When the President can declare emergency?
a) When there is a breakdown of the constitutional machinery
b) When security of India is threatened
c) When financial stability is endangered
d) Any or all of the above


1. C     2. B    3. D     4. B     5. B     6. C     7. B      8. A     9. C    10. D    11. C    12. C     13. B      14. C      15. D

Next Post »