General Awareness : Indian Polity Quiz 8

Important Indian Polity Questions and Answers for Competitive Exams conducted by SSC, UPSC / Indian Polity Quiz / Indian Polity GK Question & Answers.

1. Which functionary can be invited to give his opinion in the parliament?
a) Attorney General of India
b) Chief Justice of India
c) Chief Election commission of India
d) Comptroller and auditor General of India

2. Age of a candidate to contest parliamentary election should not be lesser than:
a) 18 years
b) 21 years
c) 25 years
d) 26 years

3. The most important feature of the Indian Parliament is that:
a) It is the union legislature in India
b) It also comprises of the President
c) It is bicameral in nature
d) The upper house of the parliament is never dissolved

4. Japan’s Parliament is known as –
a) Diet
b) Dail
c) Yuan
d) Shora

5. Who said, Parliamentary system provides a daily as well as a periodic assessment of the Government?
a) B.R. Ambedkar
b) B.N. Rau
c) Jawahar Lal Nehru
d) Rajendra Prasad

6. What is contained in the tenth schedule of the constitution?
a) Languages recognised by constitution
b) Forms of oath or affirmation
c) Laws that cannot be challenged in any court of law
d) Provision regarding disqualification on grounds of defection

7. The Election commission holds election for
a) The Parliament, State Legislature and the posts of the president and the Vice-President
b) The parliament, State legislative Assemblies and the State Council
c) The Parliament
d) The parliament and the State Legislative Assemblies

8. For Election to the Lok Sabha, a nomination paper can be field by
a) Any citizen of India
b) Any citizen of India whose name appears in the electoral roll of a Constituency
c) Anyone residing in India
d) A resident of the Constituency from which the election to be contested

9. In India, political parties are given recognition by
a) Election Commission
b) Speaker of Lok Sabha
c) President
d) Law Commission

10. The Vice President is elected by an Electoral College consisting of members of
a) Both Houses of Parliament and state legislative
b) Both Houses of Parliament
c) Lok Sabha
d) Rajya Sabha

11. By which one of the following Constitutional Amendments Delhi has become National Capital Region (NCR)?
a) 61st Amendment    
b) 69th Amendment
c) 71st Amendment    
d) 79th Amendment

12.The following States were created after 1960. Arrange them n ascending chronological order of their formation and choose your answer from the given codes:
a) Haryana                  
b) Sikkim
c) Nagaland                
d) Meghalaya
(1) a, b , c ,d                
(2) b, c ,d , 1
(3) c , a , d , b            
(4) b, d , a , c

13.Uttarakhand’ State come into existence on –
a) Novemeber 1, 2000
b) November 9, 2000
c) November 10, 2001
d) January 1, 2008

14. Which of the following is NOT a Union Territory?
a) Goa                        
b) Lakshadweep
c) Dadar and Nagar Haveli
d) Chandigarh

15. In which year was the State of Jharkhand formed?
a) 1998                        
b) 1999
c) 2000                        
d) 2001


1. A     2. C     3. B     4. A     5. A      6. D     7. A      8. B      9. A      10. B      11. B     12. C      13. B     14. A      15. C

Next Post »