General Awareness : Indian Polity Quiz 9

Important Indian Polity Questions and Answers for Competitive Exams conducted by SSC, UPSC / Indian Polity Quiz / Indian Polity GK Question & Answers.

1. Where is Raisina Hill?
a) Where Rashtrapati Bhavan is situated
b) The Hill feature in Srinagar, otherwise known as Shankaracharya Hill
c) The place where the Dogra rulers of Jammu and Kashmir built their fort in Jammu
d) The Rock Feature at Kanyakumari where Swami Vivekanand’s statue was erected

2.Who was the first Deputy Prime Minister of India?
a) L.K. Advani              
b) Moraraji Desai
c) Charan Singh          
d) Sardar Balabhbahi Patel

3. Generally the Prime Minister is
a) A member of Rajya Sabha
b) An experienced administrator
c) Not a member of Parliament
d) A member of Lok Sabha

4. Who was the Defence Minister of India during the Indo- China war of 1962?
a) R.N. Thapar              
b) Jagjivan Ram
c) V.K. Krishna Menon
d) Govind Ballabh Pant

5. Who is known as the first Law Officer of India?
a) Chief Justice of India
b) Law Minister of India
c) Attorney General of India
d) Solicitor General of India

6. Via which among the following amendments of the Constitution, the territories of Goa, Daman & Diu were incorporated in the Indian Constitution?
a) Constitution (10th) Amendment Act 1961
b) Constitution (12th) Amendment Act 1962
c) Constitution (14th) Amendment Act 1962
d) None of the above

7. The Vice President of India is elected by the electoral collage consisting of the members of __: 
1. Rajya Sabha
2. Lok Sabha
3. State Legislatures
Choose the correct option from the codes given below:
a) Only 1
b) Only 1 & 2
c) Only 2 & 3
d) Only 1 & 4

8. With respect to the President of India, which among the following statements is / are correct?
1. A person who has been president of India is eligible for immediate re-election
2. A person can not hold the office of president of India for more than two consecutive terms
Choose the correct option from the codes given below: 
a) Only 1
b) Only 2
c) Both 1 & 2
d) Neither 1 nor 2

9. The power to vote money for public expenditure rests in India with ___: 
1. Lok Sabha
2. Rajya Sabha
3. Legislative Assembly
4. Legislative Council
Choose the correct option from the codes given below: 
a) Only 1 & 2
b) Only 1 & 3
c) Only 1, 2 & 3
d) 1, 2, 3 & 4

10. Consider the following statements:
1. Deputy Speaker and Speaker may resign by writing to each other
2. Attorney General and Solicitor General may resign by writing to each other Which among the above statements is / are correct?
a) Only 1
b) Only 2
c) Both 1 & 2
d) Neither 1 nor 2

11. Election to the house of the people and the Legislative Assemblies of States in India are conducted on the basis of
a) Single Transferable vote
b) Propotional Representation
c) Limited sufferage
d) Adult Franchise

12. Who appoints the Chief Election Commissioner of India?
a) Chief Justice of India
b) President
c) Prime Minister
d) Parliament

13. Which among the following is not a part of the electoral reforms?
a) Installation of electronic voting machines
b) Appoinment of election Commissioner
c) Registration of Political parties
d) Disqualifying the offenders

14. Recognition to a political party is accorded by
a) The Election Commission
b) A Committee of Whips
c) The ministry of parliament Affours
d) The speaker of the Lok Sabha in the case of national Parties and the Speaker of Legislative assemblies in the case of regional parties

15. The Chief Minister of a state in India is not eligible to vote in the Presidential election if
a) He is a member of the Upper House of the State Legislature
b) He is a caretaker Chief Minister
c) He himself is a candidate
d) He is an political member


1. A      2. D     3. D     4. C     5. C     6. B    7. B     8. A     9. B      10. A     11. D    12. B     13. A     14. A     15. A

Next Post »